

The Irish Association of Critical Care Nurses (IACCN) recognise all critical care nurses for all they do for patients, for families, for their colleagues and for the profession of nursing. We honour and support all nurses; those who strive to improve nursing practice; who initiate and deliver very high standards of care; who focus on innovation and excellence in patient care and improve the lives of others.

The IACCN is very proud to offer this award in the name of one of our former colleagues, Laserina O'Connor. Laserina was a critical care nurse, a beacon for nursing, a leader and mentor who demonstrated commitment to excellence in nursing care throughout her career. She started the formal Intensive Care training for nurses and continued to develop many education programmes and was involved in the conception of advanced practice for ICU nurses.

To reflect Laserina's drive for excellence in critical care nursing, the IACCN would like to present an annual award for a critical care nurse who, in your estimation, reflects this ethos.

Show your appreciation for one of your colleagues who, in your opinion is exceptional, outstanding or has brought a significant change which improves patient care or the profession of nursing in Ireland.

## Who is eligible?

All IACCN members working within critical care in Ireland are eligible to nominate or receive this prestigious award.

## How to apply

Please complete the nomination form available under the conference tab on our website and send to: info@iaccn.ie

## Nominations for this award

Nominations for the 2025 Professor Laserina O Connor Nursing Excellence Award will open on 1st June 2025 and close on 1st August 2025.

Notification of outcome and award will be presented at the IACCN Conference 2025.